Sarasota Sex Offender Attorney
Being required to register as a sex offender may bring up memories of a time you would like to forget. Resisting these requirements is understandable. After all, having your friends and neighbors find out that you are a sex offender is humiliating. While simply not registering is tempting, not complying with Florida statute can result in another criminal conviction. As an experienced Sarasota sex offender attorney, Erika Valcarcel has worked as both a prosecutor and a defender. With this background, she can anticipate the prosecution’s strategy in order to craft a strong defense.
Call (941) 363-7900 now to see how she can help you avoid time behind bars.
When Registration is Required
Anyone convicted of a sex crime is required to register as a sex offender within 48 hours of establishing a new residency. The offender must initially register after being released from prison. After that, the offender is required to register twice every year: once in their birth month and again six months later. Registration is also required or when moving to a new location within the state of Florida. This process must be completed at a county sheriff’s department to avoid being arrested for failure to register.
Florida statutes require that a wealth of information must be brought to the sheriff’s office for registration. This information includes:
- Name, date of birth, and address
- Social Security Number
- Recent photograph
- All telephone numbers
- Driver’s license or state-issued ID
- Employer’s name, address, and phone number
- School address, name, and phone number
- Working email address
Once a person has registered, their name and address become available to the public on the Florida Sexual Offenders and Predators Registry. When moving and upon initial release from prison, individuals are also required to obtain a new driver’s license within 48 hours of visiting the sheriff’s office. This is done to update the offender’s address and other relevant information.
Consequences for Failing to Register
The consequences of failing to register as a sex offender are severe. The crime is classified as a third-degree felony, which carries prison time. The penalties for failure to register as a sex offender include, but are not limited to:
- Failure to Register as a Sex Offender: Up to $5,000 in fines, up to 5 years of probation, and up to 5 years in prison.
Let Erika Valcarcel, Criminal Defense Lawyer, P.A. Protect Your Freedom
The laws outlining failure to register as a sex offender unfairly punish those who have already served their time. With the help of a skilled attorney, it may be possible to get your charges thrown out in court. One effective defense is proving that you could not afford to pay the fee associated with getting a new license at the time of your registration. Another effective strategy showing that the sheriff’s office was uncooperative in the registration process. People attempting to register are often turned away by law enforcement officers who wish to see sex offenders arrested.
A failure to register charge can devastate your very existence. From losing your job to altered relationships, there is no aspect left unaffected. Your past criminal conviction will make bail unlikely, and any plea bargains you are offered will have no room for negotiation. Sarasota criminal defense attorney Erika Valcarcel understands the turmoil that can arise from these situations. With her experience on both sides of the courtroom, she is very familiar with how to best defend against certain charges. She will work tirelessly to uncover all of the details so that your case is presented in the best possible light.
Call (941) 363-7900 now for a free consultation and to see how your freedom can be preserved.